2 Extras To Your Ordinary

Day after day, time pass away… And each day starts to reveal how ordinary I actually am. I’m sure you think that way too. When we were kids, we’d use to watch all these superheroes movies from Marvel and Justice League and it would get us dreaming of an extraordinary life.

I confess. I’d use to think that I can change the world, and literally the world. But after some time I started to face reality. C’mon, there’s only going to be one Steve Jobs, one Bill Gates, one Mark Zuckerberg, one Mother Teresa, one Martin Luther King Jr. , one Winston Churchill. You’d get my point by now.

There’s bound to be someone smarter than you, fitter than you, richer than you, strums the guitar better than you, shoots the hoops better than you, more organised than you, more charismatic than you. You’d get the gist right?

By now, all your dreams of changing the world would have been shattered. (I’m Sorry, LOL) Well, I’m also here to proof myself wrong.

If you’re thinking like this, “I mean after saying what you had to say above, how can I live an extraordinary life? I’m really just an ordinary guy, with nothing extraordinary to offer… No special talents, not smartest in the class. I don’t think I can do it.”

Thank God. You’re human. 🙂

Welcome to the club, I think the same too. So if you want your life to stop at ordinary, then stop reading this post and go back to whatever you were doing previously.

But if you’d want to find out how I think you can live an extraordinary life, then read on. (How to stop reading at this point right? LOL.)

Here are the 2 EXTRAs to your ORDINARY:

1. TEAM

I’ve been thinking for some time now… I mean, if the odds of me making a substantial difference like those giants are one in a million, maybe I can at least be apart of the team that changed the world.

I admit (today seems like a confession night, LOL), I used to be very egoistic and individualistic. I’d never really embraced the concept of team… However, as I began to attend Heart Of God Church (HOGC) more often, I started to see the true power of TEAM. (Click the link and you will see the power of team in Heart Of God Church)

I mean I respect and love the people who single handedly changed the world or beat world records. I love and respect deeply those people who individually changed their environment and subsequently the world. People like Martin Luther King Jr. and many more. I personally am a big fan of Roger Banister (Broke the 4 minute-mile) and Usain Bolt. (Here’s something fun for you)

usain-bolt-usain-bold-usain-italic

So don’t get me wrong, I still believe in the power of one. One definitely can make a difference.

However, what I am trying to say is that. Team has the power for you to live extraordinarily.

Wise man once said, “If you’d like to go fast, go alone. If you’d like to go far, go with a group of friends.”

In the end, whats the point of winning the cup and have no team to celebrate with. Its just an empty cup.

The true winner is the loser that has a team that would put arms around his shoulders, call him family, spur him on be better at what he does and love him.

I mean achieving something as a team is, no doubt, more significant than to achieving something as an individual.

Bringing it back to earth, have you once did very well for a test and achieved top few in class or cohort? Now, how long did that satisfaction last you? Compare it to this: Have you ever did very well in a group project, where everyone played their part to make each other successful? Now, how long did that satisfaction last you?

Exactly.

How can we move on from this point without talking about the best team ever formed in the whole of humanity? Nope, not Barcelona FC, not golden state warriors.

The Twelve Disciples? Bingo.

Jesus wasn’t a one hit wonder (although He could have chose to be). He could have single handedly changed humanity if He wanted. But no. He chose to form a TEAM. This team is made up of different people with different personalities and character traits but they covered each others’ backs and eventually changed the course of humanity, that a whopping 32% of the world’s population today are Jesus followers. There must be something we can learn from this.

The team of Twelve Disciples were the perfect team. stronger than the Avengers or Justice League. In the team were different strengths, there were the sentimental and grateful ones, there were the visionaries, there were the supporters, there tactical and analytic ones.

Wait. actually sounds like avengers. Strength of the Hulk, analytic brains of Tony Stark, perspective like Hawkeye, supportive like Black-widow. (HAHA, isn’t that an interesting spin on seeing the bible?)

The best teams are made up of a bunch of NOBODIES who love EVERYBODY & serve ANYBODY and DON’T care about becoming a SOMEBODY.

And that is the power of a team.

Now, you’d be dying to know the second thing to being extraordinary.

2) GOD

We are imperfect beings, definitely ordinary, some even consider themselves less than ordinary.

But guess what? We can be imperfect, but we also can be perfectly secure in God.

Here’s why.
2 Corinthians 12:9-10
Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. 10 That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

BAM, one paragraph of the bible just owned 900 words I talked about in the first point. (LOL)

In God, we can be completely secure in weakness. haters gonna hate sometimes. But guess what? For when I am weak, then I am strong.

I’m not saying that we can continue to settle for sinful and dirty nature. I am saying that with God, we can overcome. God will use us to change our worlds.

To all my friends that think that they are just ordinary, in fact less than ordinary, here is what the bible says for you.
1 Corinthians 1:27
27 Instead, God chose things the world considers foolish in order to shame those who think they are wise. And he chose things that are powerless to shame those who are powerful.

Welcome to the club of the foolish and powerless. Because God is going to use us.

So if this post aims to do one thing. I would like to tell you that you CAN be secure in GOD. Your little talents and gifting that nobody recognises.

You were born an original. Don’t die a copy.
Look at what is in your own hands, not what is in another’s.

“Everybody’s a genius. But if you judge a fish on its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that its stupid.”
~ Albert Einstein

If you’re a fish. don’t die trying to be a monkey. Its stupid. 🙂

With that, you CAN live an extraordinary life according to my books.

If you’re a liker, hater, neutral. But you’ve found this article interesting in any way.
go ahead, like it, share it, leave a comment.

I’ll see you around 🙂

4 thoughts on “2 Extras To Your Ordinary

Leave a Reply

